How to open a web browser from Python

This goes under the Tips and Tricks category. 

Also under Stuff I wish I had known about a long time ago.

The trick is in the standard library, in the webbrowser module.

"""
For documentation of the webbrowser module,
see http://docs.python.org/library/webbrowser.html
"""
import webbrowser
new = 2 # open in a new tab, if possible

# open a public URL, in this case, the webbrowser docs
url = "http://docs.python.org/library/webbrowser.html"
webbrowser.open(url,new=new)

# open an HTML file on my own (Windows) computer
url = "file://X:/MiscDev/language_links.html"
webbrowser.open(url,new=new)
4 thoughts on “How to open a web browser from Python

  1. I have several webbrowsers. How can I open a new tab in a browser that is not default browser?

  2. cool
    I usually manufacture a command “firefox –new-tab “+url

    Also:
    Stop focus stealing on firefox:

    Set browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground to ‘true’ in about:config

  3. I tried this, and it worked ok the first couple of times. But now it does this weird thing where it cuts off the filename of the file I am trying to open and sticks it on the end of the path. ie: if the file is in C:/python/test.html, the error message says, “Cannot find ‘file:///C:/pythonest.html. Make sure the path or Internet address is correct.” I’m sure the path is correct because I can open the file from the command line without any problems.

    • I’m betting that this is a problem with the way the filename is being fed to Python. If you feed Python this string (a Windows filename)

      C:\python\test.html
      

      it is going to interpret “\p” and “\t” as escaped characters. It can’t do anything with “\p”, but “\t” will be interpreted as a tab character and either ignored or displayed in a way that you don’t expect. So “python\test.html” will become “python[TAB]est.html”.

Comments are closed.